top of page

Happy Fathers Day 2020

Happy fathers day to these four men pictured below. I have never really sat down and thanked you all and I know, it's long overdue. So for once, I'm going to take this opportunity to say thank you to each of you individually. So I'm sorry this is so long.


Firstly, Happy Father's day in heaven, Papaw Henry. You are the man that gave me my name and my identity. The older I become, the more I realize that every decision I make in life comes back to you. Even after you had gone, you had taught me so much about right from wrong, and I have constantly lived my life thinking, "Is this something that would make Papaw proud?". Without this, I don't think I would have survived this life as long as I have. The hole I have dug for myself would've been so deep, finding the light again would have been nearly impossible. The man that you had shown us kids was one that was strong, lively, and what I had thought then, to be healthy. You were the most selfless man I had ever had the chance of knowing, and I thank you every day for leaving us kids with only good memories to remember you by. I know you wanted to be apart of all of your grandchildren's lives, and that you wanted what time you had left to spend with us. But instead, you sacrificed that time to ensure we didn't see you in pain. That we didn't see you sick or not your usual, strong self. So thank you Papaw, for being the man that you were. I love you. And I miss you, always.


Next, Happy father's day, Papaw Larry! (I know, no one calls you that but I kinda have to since I'm addressing you both .) The main thing you have taught me growing up is to be tough. You have shaped all of us kids to not be so uptight. To take things lightly, give em' hell back, and then move on! You taught me that no matter how hard life gets, there ain't nothing but a damn good joke to help you get by. You also taught me that there will never be anyone that loves you as much as you love yourself, LOL. You are either the life of a party or the human embodiment of Grumpy Bear. There is no in-between. And that's something about you I wouldn't trade for anything. I miss you and I love you. And yes, I know. You love you, too.


Now you, the asshole who cursed me as 'James's Little Sister'. It is your turn to fall victim to my overly-written 'thank you' messages. And to start it off with a smack in the face, thank you for finally giving us a better, cuter version of you. If there is anything you have taught me since having this better, cuter version of you, it's that no matter the circumstance, you must do anything for your family. That hard work, no matter how easy or how tough, can be done if you simply just do it. You taught me how to put myself first. That the only person that can keep me from happiness is myself, and that selflessness can be just as damaging as being selfish. And I know I don't tell you this, but you are the one person I will always strive to be just like. You are my role model, and I guess with me being your younger sibling, that's naturally a given. I love you and I'm proud of you. Happy fathers day.

Last but never least, Happy Father's Day, Dad. The things you have taught me in life are an abundance of things. But the one that has stuck out to me the most is the ability to love unconditionally. You have shown me that there will never be a man in this world that loves me as much you. You have taught me that pain is an emotion that needs to be felt in order to be happy. That sometimes, it takes a little letting go to allow yourself to say, "Hey, I'm gonna be alright." Thank you for always sharing how proud you are of us kids. I know you have more tough times than good, and I know you have a hard time believing that there is someone out there that believes in you, but I promise, I do. I am so proud of you. I am proud of your ability to go through life unafraid of what may happen next. I am proud of you for continuing to smile every day. I am proud of you for so many things, but I feel the proudest when you are happy and healthy. I love you, Dad. And again, Happy Father's Day.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page